h1

Fuji Transfers

March 29, 2008

Not the greatest day outside today. I had hoped for some sunshine because I wanted to get a jump on some 8×10 Polaroid work for the Ode to Polaroid exchange at APUG. But no such luck.  So instead I decided to take another stab at using Fuji FP100C for emulsion transfers.

I don’t have a Daylab or 405 back so I make the images in-camera.  This time I decided to use FrankenRoid which is a pinhole MP4.  Get out the rubber duckies and barrel of monkeys, turn on the Wagner and create!

valkrye_001.jpg

6 minute exposure with heavy overcast.  20 seconds development, then peel and place on the Arches Aquarelle (hot press).  Roll for 1 minute, single direction, with a hard brayer.  Important that the peel and place be done in the dark or with a dim safe light.  Once down, the back of the Fuji is light proof so the lights could be turned on, I just worked under the safe light the whole time.

Fuji FP100C has a very pronounced blue shift for long exposures so I was to use a Daylab I might want to adjust the color pack to be a little minus blue.  There are some good discussions of this technique on http://www.flickr.com and http://www.apug.org  .   Both sites have search functions so key words like “emulsion+FP100” or “fuji+transfer” should help find them.  I just feel lazy right now and so don’t have links to include in this entry.

Leave a Reply

