h1

Life after Polaroid

February 23, 2008

There has been some discussion over at Flickr ( link )and on the AAPUG mailing list about ways to get emulsion transfer to work with Fuji FP100-C film. I can say that the method outlined by Mr. Balazsy does work. In fact, I did a few things “wrong” and it still transfered. Wrong in the sense that I made some expedient substitutions of paper and medium soft brayer for the recommended hard brayer. Just stuff on hand. Also, the exposure was a bit on the low side. All I had on hand was my pinhole Frankenroid room lights. Guessed at a 10 minute exposure, probably needed 20 or 30. Close enough for a test shot though.

foralex.jpg

The scan has problems and it looks like there was an uneven pull through the camera’s rollers. Not the case on the real print, the problem is a little bit of curling in the paper and I didn’t put a weight on the scanner lid. Crappy little all-in-one scanner doesn’t have much dynamic range either.

The one serious defect in this test print are the large “snowflakes” at the center. This is missing emulsion. Could be the paper (hot press Canson, probably heavily sized) combined with my rolling technique. But know what, I don’t care! It freakin’ worked so there is promise.

For emulsion lift fans, there is a lot of chatter on the AAPUG mailing list about technique to get the transfer to stick to its new substrate.

One comment

  1. Hi, it seems that you have successfully made emulsion transfers using the Fuji FP-100c. I really need some tips, I was doing an emulsion lift demo and had to use the Fuji as opposed to Polaroid 669 and it appears that this film is temperamental. If you could send me an email regarding tips, I’d really appreciate it. Thanks, Aaron abbotta729@hotmail.com



Leave a Reply

