h1

The fuzzy end of the lollipop!

October 23, 2007

Took a short trip out into the Flint Hills around Alma, KS this past weekend. The plan was to make some photographs using my 8×10 Seneca and rapid rectalinear lens. Made a few exposures and processed the first sheet of APHS lithographic film in dilute Rodinal. This was the first time I’d tried to use the r.r. lens and so I was expecting it to be somewhat of a learning experience.

From this first negative I learned four things:
1) Be careful about how much front rise is applied. The image circle at infinity focus can’t handle more than about 1″ of front rise. I set the camera up with nearly 2″ and the corner vignetting is pretty severe.

2) My dark cloth is just too small to be useful on the 8×10. It was less of a dark cloth and more of a small sail in the 30mph wind. Time to look into a BlackJacket or BTZS hood instead. If I had been better able to see the ground glass, #1 probably would not have happened.

3) The clips I use for hanging the negatives to dry don’t grip the thin APHS very well. Just hung it up and turned to walk away when I hear a faint “pop” followed by a sickening “flop” sound as the wet negative hit the concrete floor. Amazing how much crud can stick to a sheet of wet film!

4) This particular 8×10 holder may have some issues with keeping the thin APHS film in place. Looking along the edges of the film it seems to have slipped out of the holder’s side slots.

So it seems I got the fuzzy end of the lollipop on this one.

But still, it is terrific to see the detail in an 8×10 negative. Below is a quick scan and on the full sheet I can easily make out individual blades of grass and details of the hay bales.

It is going to be an adjustment working with the 8×10, probably more than when I first started using my 4×5 cameras!

Flint Hills - Deep Creek Road

Leave a Reply

